Built in 1917, the Lighthouse Tender/Patrol Vessel CEDAR was acquired by the Navy in 1917 and returned to Lighthouse Service in July 1919; she was reclassified as USCGC CEDAR in 1939 and, during World War II, designated WAGL-207
Title taken from caption: "Taking the mail ashore at Cape Sarichief [sic] Lighthouse. This is the first mail reaching the lighthouse for six months." View of three men in small boat with large bag of mail behind rower in front of boat, rowing...
Title taken from verso. Aerial view, showing total destruction of facility. During an earthquake and tidal wave [tsunami] of April 1, 1946, Scotch Cap Lighthouse was destroyed. All five crewmen at the station were killed.
View of the small lighthouse built at Scotch Cap after the original was destroyed by an an earthquake in 1947. The lighthouse is misidentified in the caption on the verso of the photograph: "Cape Sarichef Light & Fog Bldg."