Title taken from caption. View of the village of Nikolski. The Russian Orthodox church is the tall building on the far right of the image. Photograph taken during the 1938 Smithsonian Institution's Archaeological Expedition to the Aleutian Islands.
Sign: “ATTU VILLAGE: In this Village the Aleuts made their home. It consisted of about nine buildings to house the population, and a Greek Orthodox Church. The Village had a Priest and a School Teacher. The Teacher was also the Village Doctor.”
Governor Swineford collected the photographs during the 1887 voyage he and his wife, Minnie Swineford, took aboard the Thetis. Included are views of the Thetis and its crew,Alaska Natives from various regions of the State of Alaska, seal...
White marble bear sculpture on a stone base; [made for the Grave of Jim K--------. The orthodox priest refused to allow it in the cemetery, and so it was placed in front of his clan house, Gaayeis’ Hít (Iron House) of the Chookaneidí; the...
Full face, head and shoulders portrait. Verso:
Tikon Lavrischev [Lavrischeff]
Picture made Vilisoff
Stamp with Russian Orthodox Cross
Prince William Sound & Copper River District, Alaska