Object Name: book
Subject: Russian Orthodox Church
Accession Number: 73-27
Description: paper; ink; printed; bound
Descriptive Narrative: TLINGIT OLD & NEW TESTAMENT READER from St. Nicholas Church,...
Title taken from caption. View of the top of the door of the church in Nikolski. English writing reads: Saint Nicholas the Thaumaturge. Photograph taken during the 1938 Smithsonian Institution's Archaeological Expedition to the Aleutian Islands.
Two women carrying paper grocery bags walk down a street in Seldovia, Alaska. St. Nicholas Orthodox Russian Church is visible at the top of the hill. There's a pile of lumber, possibly pallets, on the right.
Title from verso. "Maj. Gen Nicholas I. Petrev, of the Russian Army, bound from Moscow to Washington, steps from a C-47 Skytrain bearing the Red Star of Russia at Edmonton, Canada, base of the Alaskan Division, Air Transport Command. Photo by...
Title from sleeve. St. Nicholas Russian Orthodox Chapel in Old Town Kenai (center) with three small wooden houses. An old automobile is parked at left. Photographer's number: 92078 49. 4 X 5 B&W negative.
Full note reads, "L to R: Kathy McGinty, Abigail Ambrose, Sharon Nicholas, Jeffrey Nickoli, Madeline Solomon, Kevin McGinty, Garrith Solomon, Adolf McGinty, Patrick McGinty. Kaltag 1980. Photo John Lyle."
Desciption from image margin "View from the second school facing East towards the Village. Building 1) Foreground shows the rec-hall with the village clinic addition. Building 2) Igiugig's first village generator shed. Building 3) Igiugig Saint...
Title from sleeve. St. Nicholas Russian Orthodox Chapel in Old Town Kenai. Wooden building in field, with small painted sign in front reading 'Russian Chapel.' Photographer's number: 14479. 2 1/4 B&W negative.
Gathering of men, women, and children from Juneau and Hoonah, outside the St. Nicholas Orthodox Church in Juneau; Reverend Andrew P. Kashevaroff stands at left center, in gown and wearing two crosses. The small child to the right of Rev....
Group inside mine: front row (l to r): unidentified man, [Madeline Vanophem, Simone Vanophem, Nicholas Van Muylder, Mr. Van Dieviot. Back row (l to r): Albert Nadeau, Julie Vanophem, Dr. Echor Huybrechts, and Jean Vanophem].
6-30-14 [inside the mine at Jualin, 1914; Simone Vanophem and Jean Vanophem (seated in foreground); standing left to right, Madeline and Julie Vanophem (sisters of Jean), Nicholas Van Muylder and Dr. E. Huybrechts (stockholder), Albert Nadeau...
Jean Vanophem (far left, with open coat); his sister, Julie Vanophem (left foreground); Mr. Van Dieviot (behind her in cloth coat); Simone Vanophem (center); (l to r at far right) Nicholas Van Muylder, Dr. Echor Huybrechts, Albert Nadeau
Note: Artist’s caption, identifying the church as the Church of St. Nicholas, is incorrect; the church pictured was dedicated to St. Andrew the First Called, and it was destroyed by the fire that consumed the village of Killisnoo in 1928