Title taken from verso. Aerial view, showing total destruction of facility. During an earthquake and tidal wave [tsunami] of April 1, 1946, Scotch Cap Lighthouse was destroyed. All five crewmen at the station were killed.
Built in 1917, the Lighthouse Tender/Patrol Vessel CEDAR was acquired by the Navy in 1917 and returned to Lighthouse Service in July 1919; she was reclassified as USCGC CEDAR in 1939 and, during World War II, designated WAGL-207