Note: Artist’s caption, identifying the church as the Church of St. Nicholas, is incorrect; the church pictured was dedicated to St. Andrew the First Called, and it was destroyed by the fire that consumed the village of Killisnoo in 1928
Papers focus on several Tlingits from Angoon, Admiralty Island, 1878-1911 when the Navy was in charge of the territory. Two letters and the "lost" note relate to the bombardment of Angoon by the Navy vessel U.S.S. Adams in 1882; also mentions the...
Photographer's notes: Teachers with refugee group at Kasaan. Ralph and Ruby McGee?, Atka teachers, standing on porch at Killisnoo (identified by Dean Kohlhoff, Valparaiso University, Indiana). Photographer's number 898-149.
Title from image caption As early as 1775, Russian Orthodox Churches were built in nearly every Alaskan village under Russian influence; this church was destroyed by the fire that consumed the entire village of Killisnoo in 1928